Special offers

Subscribe and get the latest hot offers, prices, news and special discount !


State structure of Bulgaria

Parliament (People's Assembly)

Bulgaria's highest legislative body is the parliament (National Assembly) which is elected every 4 years. It consists of 240 deputies. The National Assembly expresses the will of the Bulgarian people and its sovereignty, legislative power belongs to it. Electoral threshold to the National Assembly is 4%. In case of military situation or emergency work of the current National Assembly shall be extended until the end of these circumstances.

President and Ministerial Council

The head of the state and the supreme commander of the armed forces is the president of the republic. He is elected every 5 years by universal and secret ballot. The President is the personification of the unity of the Bulgarian nation. He represents the country in international relations. The President can veto the decision of the Parliament and it cannot act without a presidential signature. Three times the President can reject any decision of the parliament.

The central executive body is the Council of Ministers. It is offered by the prime minister and elected by the parliament (National Assembly). The Council of Ministers governs foreign and domestic policy of the Bulgarian State, acts in accordance with the constitution and laws of the country.

Judicial branch

The judicial power in Bulgaria is independent and is subjected only to the law. Its work is aimed at protecting the rights and interests of the state, its citizens and legal entities.